All Hallow’s Eve, an Avocado as Big as My Hand, and the Zombie Apocalypse

I have a confession to make: I adore the holiday season. For me, it stretches out from All Hallow’s Eve and doesn’t end till Julefrokost (for those of you who weren’t born into a deep Danish heritage, that’s a Yule-time luncheon that involves course after course of food sandwiching shot after shot of snaps. YIKES. But I digress…). If you know me, you know that the #1 most important thing in my life is and always will be family – that’s what makes the holidays so magical – but after family? Well, naming my two favorite things is pretty simple: food and (since I can’t say “food” again) fitness.

You are what you eat. And my Jack O’ Lantern ate a, um, little Jack O’ Lantern. Can you be a cannibal AND a vegan? My pumpkin apparently thinks so…

You are what you eat. And my Jack O’ Lantern ate a, um, little Jack O’ Lantern. Can you be a cannibal AND a vegan? My pumpkin apparently thinks so…

You Are What You Eat
I love fall foods. I love fall colors. I love fall foods bursting with fall colors. Can you blame me? We, sadly, had absolutely zero trick-or-treaters knocking on our door this year, but that didn’t keep us from celebrating All Hallow’s Eve in style. The house was decked in cobwebs, windows tossed open with haunted-house sounds spilling into the neighborhood, and pumpkins properly carved and glowing. And on the menu? For days before, during, and after Hallowe’en, I packed our bellies full of autumnal oranges, yellows, and deep, dark greens.

Here is one of the plant-based dishes that even managed to win over my husband’s carnivorous heart this past week. I really wanted to create a meal that incorporated the best of all worlds – steaming, roasting, and plain ol’ raw goodness.

image_3

Steamy, roast-y, and raw, oh my! Roasted sweet potatoes, golden beets, and garlic drizzled in coconut oil, steamed broccolini with Nantes carrots, and a massive half of an avocado, all topped with freshly cracked black pepper and pink Himalyan salt.

Oh, did I mention that the avocado was as big as my hand? I mean, literally. We probably could have just eaten the avocado and been sufficiently satisfied. In fact, I’m still dreaming of that avocado. Sigh.

Brains, Brains, BRAAAAINS
I might be more intelligent about the types of food I eat, and the portions, than I was in my younger days. But that doesn’t mean I’m not still infatuated with the pure unadulterated act of grubbing. I’m not in the slightest bit ashamed. How do I counteract my insatiable appetite? Three words: moving my body. Wellness is a near-spiritual dance between what you put into your body and what you do with your body. So I keep moving. And in true spooky fashion, the best workout I had last week was surviving a zombie apocalypse, of course. Who else can boast that (besides the other ten fierce ladies I meet every Saturday for boot camp)?

image_1

I’m not usually one for giving out free advertising, but trainer Jason at the 24 Hour Fitness in Costa Mesa is a keeper. Even with that ridiculous psychotic clown wig.

Not only was this wicked-awesome weekend warrior session decorated with the creepiest of cut-outs, the obstacle-course-style workout kept us on our toes. Medicine ball slams, kettle bell sumo squats, barbell presses, up-downs (which some folks call “burpies”?!), stair runs, and way more insanity than I have time to dive into right now. All the while, zombies nipping at our heels (well, a red-wigged motivator rather, but you get the picture). The point is, the course kept us moving and our trainer kept us focused on our cores.

And most importantly, the energy I burned balanced out the energy I consumed rather nicely, don’t you think? Just take a look at my stats below.

Oh, no big deal. Just killing 937 calories by rocking the zombie apocalypse. How was YOUR Saturday morning?

Oh, no big deal. Just killing 937 calories by rocking the zombie apocalypse. How was YOUR Saturday morning?

About theladyapplesauce

https://theladyapplesauce.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

