Thirty-First Birthdays, Life Is Sweet Bake Shop, N*Sync, and More Vegan Wedding Shenanigans

Mini Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting

Who… us? Oh, we’re just adorable mini vegan chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting. NBD.

Birthdays for women in their thirties are funny. Turning thirty-one this year I *think* is something I’m supposed to be depressed about. But I’m not. Guys, there are plenty of other things in this world to be sad about. My birthday is not at all one of them. It’s just another reason to see family and friends that I love, eat good food, and stuff my face with delicious vegan sweets! About three hours ago, the lovely Robin Cole of Life Is Sweet Bake Shop dropped off these goodies for me. HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO SAVE THESE FOR PARTY GUESTS TOMORROW?! Dkndfgkdvnkdvvnfdbdfv!!!

Holy gluten-free vegan moly! These mini raspberry cheesecakes are singing their siren song.

My husband’s favorite of Robin’s creations: the elusive mini vegan banana cupcake with coconut frosting. If all two dozen are still in our kitchen in the morning, I will be AMAZED.

So here’s the story. About six months before the wedding, I randomly found Life Is Sweet Bake Shop on Instagram. I started obsessing over every baked good posted. Double tap. Double tap. Double tap. Double tap. Double tap. (That’s me “LIKE”ing photos, in case you didn’t pick up on that). And then I finally reached out via email. And then Robin and I fired up a chat chain, which grew into a novel, which lasted several more months. And then we finally thought we should meet in person. She picked Whole Foods, I said “yes”, we briefly described our respective appearances so we’d be able to spot each other, and I didn’t think much more of it. AND THEN we met face-to-face. And our jaws dropped. And it took several durrrrrrrrrr-filled moments until we realized we knew each other from, oh, nearly twenty years ago. The childhood BFF of a cousin of mine, the last time I had seen this girl (sorry, Robin!) she was definitely wearing an N*Sync shirt, and I’m pretty sure 98° were involved, too (oh, Nick Lachey, why are you are the only name I remember? I blame the terrifyingly-always-pregnant Jessica Simpson). 1990s boy bands aside, it was kismet. Robin, like me, grew up! And is vegan! And LOVES to bake! Only, she does it much better than I, has made a career of it, and is so effing good you need to give her all your monies to bake for you right now. RIGHT. NOW. Go on. I’ll wait… Did you lose her web site already? Jeez, guys, I just told you it’s Life Is Sweet Bake Shop, like, right up there in the beginning.

Long story short, of course she baked for our wedding. Of course it was amazing. For our bridal cake, she kept it simple with a 6” round chocolate cake, fresh strawberries, and vanilla frosting. Our gals at The Poppy Studio provided fresh flowers for the top. For our guests, we wanted a wide assortment of options. Robin masterfully concocted mini red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting, banana cupcakes with coconut frosting, chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting, and churro (YES!) cupcakes with cinnamon cream cheese frosting. She made mini, gluten-free raspberry cheesecakes, mini lemon tarts, and mini brownies. And if that wasn’t delicious enough, she also baked mini chocolate chip cookies and gluten-free peanut butter cookies. Now, if only we had been able to eat any of it. Seriously. Yes, we cut our bridal cake and shared a slice (divine, BTW). And we also ate several more slices of that over the next couple of days before freezing the remaining, per tradition. But as for the mini sweets? Nope, we didn’t get a single one. They were so popular that we were simply terrified they would run out! In fact, SOME PEOPLE WHO WILL REMAIN NAMELESS were already devouring the goods before dinner was served. AHEM! Needless to say, I ain’t complaining. A party of 120+ non-vegans chowing down on and begging for more vegan deliciousness? That was exactly what my little heart desired.

Sigh. Sweets we were never meant to eat. [Photo by Tyler Branch]

Can I please just keep reliving our wedding day over and over and over again? [Photo by Tyler Branch]

After all was said and done, I decided I deserved a little gift to myself: a mini sweets do-over for my birthday. Darling Robin obliged. And now there are two dozen mini cheesecakes and four dozen mini cupcakes mocking me in the fridge. Oh, you’ll meet your maker, teeny tiny desserts. You’re safe tonight, but I’ll be eating the hell outta you tomorrow [insert maniacal laugh here].

About theladyapplesauce

https://theladyapplesauce.wordpress.com

2 responses to “Thirty-First Birthdays, Life Is Sweet Bake Shop, N*Sync, and More Vegan Wedding Shenanigans

  1. Those desserts were the yummiest! I concur! I may be one of those nameless ones who couldn’t keep her paws off the goods at the wedding. Loving these posts!

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

